Skip to content

Rubber Ducky You’re the One!

May 18, 2009

I have continued to play with my light box and lighting setup. I got some interesting shots of the marbles and stones that I bought at the dollar store but my favourite so far is my rubber ducky – also from the dollar store!

IMG_9317

For this shot, I added a light panels micro on a Manfrotto 196AB-2 articulated arm with a hot s396AB-2hoe mount and 050 stand positioned down low to get more light on ducky’s face. The articulated arm let me get the light in close to my ducky but kept it out of my shot. The light panel on just the stand would have been too crowded in my limited space.

While extremely cramped in my little “studio” I really like this shot – so much so that I have printed it on Hahnemühle Daguerre canvas and I am going to gallery wrap it with the Stick and Stretch framing system.

IMG_9322

I am still using my Starlite with the CoolStar lamp for this – the CoolStar and the LitePanels Micro work well together in this situation as they are both daylight rated colour. Meaning that they are both cool light and will not compete with each other to throw off my white balance or provide different colours of light in the image.

My Canon 40D is on a Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 and a 486RC2 Ball head for lots of flexibility. Believe me, I changed the position of my camera a hundred times before I was happy with a shot!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

