Skip to content

Dollar Store Creativity

May 17, 2009

I enjoyed Wendy Rombough’s glass experiments so much that I decided to play with glass on my light table too! I went to the dollar store and picked up a whole bunch of stuff to play with: stones, marbles, glass, shells… all for a whopping $10.

Gear:

  • BRNO BaLens white balance lens cap (to set the white balance for my “session”)
  • Light Table (to have cool blown out background light)
  • Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 with 486RC2 Ball Head (to keep my camera steady and in one position so that I can play with the camera settings on the same shot)
  • Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 (will try some shots with a different lens later and show you)
  • Photoflex Starlite with OctoDome nxt and CoolStar bulb (to get controllable light on the top and on the background when I am shooting on an angle)
  • Photoflex Diffuser LiteDisc (to diffuse the light from my potlights in my “studio” which is actually my furnace room!)
  • oh, and my Canon 40D, of course

Image settings: 41mm, f/2.8, ISO 100, 1/320

IMG_9258 (1)

The shot below was taken without the Photoflex Diffuser LiteDisc – you can see the yellow reflections from the potlights in the room. In the image above, there are soft, white reflections – that is what the LiteDisc does.

IMG_9240

Here is my setup:

IMG_0579

Now, I am going to play some more! I love long weekends!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

