Skip to content

Jays win in the bottom of the 12th!

April 19, 2009

Whew. Long game. I think I took about 240 photos!

I really wish that I had the Tamron 18-270 VC with me yesterday. I got some half-decent photos but nothing spectacular – even with my elbows planted in my Kata 3 in 1 bag I am just not that steady. The Dome was closed so I had to crank up my ISO to 1600 – that means grainy images for the most part. I probably could have gotten away with carrying a larger lens too – like the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8. Next time I will take a couple of lenses and compare.

Remember the golden rule: when shooting hand-held, keep you speed above your focal length number. I was shooting mostly at 250mm to get close to the action which means that (with my APC-size sensor creating a multiplication factor of 1.4 – I was really shooting at 350mm) I should have kept my speed at or above 1/350 (which means 1/500th or above in available shutter speeds) to have any chance of sharp images. That was rarely possible with the lighting conditions and the speed of my lens.

This is an example of the kind of shots I was getting.

img_8469

Ok for my memories but not a printable image. Sigh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

