Skip to content

BRNO baLens gets the light right …fast!

April 17, 2009

I went to the kickoff presentation for the demolition of the Guild Inn hotel tower in Toronto this week. Since I arrived early, I wandered around and took some photos of the historical architectural pieces scattered about the grounds. In order to set my white balance properly, I set my camera to manual focus with the baLens on, aimed at the sky just to the left of the sun and took a shot. I then loaded that shot as my custom white balance reference image, set the camera to custom white balance and proceeded to take my photos. The white balance for my images was perfectly set so that I didn’t have to do any post-processing after the event. I had CDs of my images ready for delivery the next day. Easy!

img_8174_sml2

My gear:

  • Tamron 18-250mm – one lens that can handle wide-angle or telephoto shots as I wasn’t sure what was going to happen at this event
  • Kata 3in1-20 sling backpack – a perfect size for my gear and great to rest my elbows on while shooting and moving around in a crowd
  • Metz 58-AF flash – just in case the event carried on into dusk
  • …and, of course, my trusty BRNO baLens white balance lens cap

www.balens.ca

 

More on baLens: http://www.inlightinworkshop.com/tag/article/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

